Ten Auburn Tigers Named to Coaches Preseason All-SEC Teams


Nov 9, 2013; Knoxville, TN, USA; Auburn Tigers head coach Gus Malzahn leaves the field with Auburn wide receiver Sammie Coates (18) followed by Auburn quarterback Nick Marshall (14) after defeating the Tennessee Volunteers 55-23 at Neyland Stadium. Mandatory Credit: Jim Brown-USA TODAY Sports

Tonight on SEC Now, the Coaches Preseason All-SEC Teams were announced. The Auburn Tigers were well represented and placed ten players on either the first, second or third team.

More from Auburn Football

Quarterback Nick Marshall, center Reese Dismukes and wide receiver Sammie Coates lead the Tigers selections on the first team. All three players were expected to be first teamers.

Marshall is considered to be a contender for the Heisman Trophy, among other national awards. Dismukes was named to multiple preseason All-American teams so his inclusion on the All-SEC first team was no shock, and Coates led the nation in yards per catch last season.

Tigers named to the second team include tight end C.J. Uzomah, offensive lineman Alex Kozan, defensive lineman Gabe Wright, and cornerback Jonathon Mincy. Unfortunately, Kozan will not have an opportunity to make the postseason All-SEC team because he is going to miss the entire 2014 season as he recovers from back surgery.

Offensive lineman Chad Slade, defensive lineman Montravius Adams and Star Robenson Therezie were selected to the preseason All-SEC third team. Adams was expected to play defensive tackle primarily this season, but because of the loss of Carl Lawson, he is also likely to see time at defensive end. Therezie has been dealing with “eligibility issues” recently that could impact his ability to play in 2014.

2014 Preseason Coaches All-SEC Football Teams

First Team Preseason All-SEC


QB Nick Marshall, Auburn

RB Todd Gurley, Georgia

RB Mike Davis, South Carolina

WR Amari Cooper, Alabama

WR Sammie Coates, Auburn

TE O.J. Howard, Alabama

OL La’el Collins, LSU

OL Cedric Ogbuehi, Texas A&M

OL Arie Kouandjio, Alabama

OL Laremy Tunsil, Ole Miss

C Reese Dismukes, Auburn

AP Christion Jones, Alabama


DL Dante Fowler, Jr., Florida

DL Robert Nkemdiche, Ole Miss

DL Trey Flowers, Arkansas

DL A’Shawn Robinson, Alabama

LB Trey DePriest, Alabama

LB A.J. Johnson, Tennessee

LB Ramik Wilson, Georgia

S Landon Collins, Alabama

S Cody Prewitt, Ole Miss

CB Vernon Hargreaves III, Florida

CB Deshazor Everett, Texas A&M


K Marshall Morgan, Georgia

P Drew Kaser, Texas A&M

RET Christion Jones, Alabama

Second Team Preseason All-SEC


QB Bo Wallace, Ole Miss

RB TJ Yeldon, Alabama

RB Alex Collins, Arkansas

WR Laquon Treadwell, Ole Miss

WR Malcolm Mitchell, Georgia

TE C.J. Uzomah, Auburn

OL A.J. Cann, South Carolina

OL Vadal Alexander, LSU

OL Corey Robinson, South Carolina

OL Chaz Green, Florida

OL Alex Kozan, Auburn

OL John Theus, Georgia

C Evan Boehm, Missouri

AP Terrence Magee, LSU


DL Chris Jones, Mississippi State

DL Gabe Wright, Auburn

DL Bud Dupree, Kentucky

DL Markus Golden, Missouri

LB Jordan Jenkins, Georgia

LB Benardrick McKinney, Mississippi State

LB Kwon Alexander, LSU

CB Damian Swann, Georgia

CB Tre’Davious White, LSU

CB Jonathon Mincy, Auburn

S Tony Conner, Ole Miss

S Corey Thompson, LSU


K Colby Delahoussaye, LSU

P Sam Irwin-Hill, Arkansas

RET Pharoh Cooper, South Carolina

Third Team Preseason All-SEC


QB Dak Prescott, Mississippi State

RB Keith Marshall, Georgia

RB Matt Jones, Florida

RB Jonathan Williams, Arkansas

WR Jameon Lewis, Mississippi State

WR Marquez North, Tennessee

TE Hunter Henry, Arkansas

OL Chad Slade, Auburn

OL Austin Shepherd, Alabama

OL Brandon Shell, South Carolina

OL Jarvis Harrison, Texas A&M

OL Mike Matthews, Texas A&M

OL DJ Humphries, Florida *

C Ryan Kelly, Alabama

AP Pharoh Cooper, South Carolina


DL Montravius Adams, Auburn

DL Jermauria Rasco, LSU

DL JT Surratt, South Carolina

DL Danielle Hunter, LSU

LB Serderius Bryant, Ole Miss

LB Denzel Nkemdiche, Ole Miss

LB Antonio Morrison, Florida

DB Robenson Therezie, Auburn

CB Rashard Robinson, LSU

S Brison Williams, South Carolina

CB Jamerson Love, Mississippi State


K Andrew Baggett, Missouri

P Jamie Keehn, LSU

P Taylor Hudson, Vanderbilt

RET Andre Debose, Florida