Auburn Football: Six Tigers Earn Spots on the All-SEC Team


Six Auburn football players were recognized as members of the 2014 Associated Press All-SEC Team.

Senior running back Cameron Artis-Payne, the league’s leading rusher with 1,482 yards, and center Reese Dismukes, a finalist for the Remington and Outland trophies, were named to the first team.

More from Auburn Football

Artis-Payne was responsible for 134.2 all-purpose yards per game this season and scored 11 rushing touchdowns for the Tigers in his first season as a starter. Dismukes will make his 50th career start in the Outback Bowl and is a team leader and captain.

Wide receiver Sammie Coates and cornerback Jonathan Jones were named to the second team, while defensive lineman Gabe Wright and kicker/punter Daniel Carlson earned honorable mention.

Jones was a pleasant surprise in his first season as a starter. The junior had 34 total tackles, one tackle for a loss, and a team-high six interceptions and ten pass breakups as a junior. Wright, who like Dismukes was a senior captain, amassed 23 tackles, 4.5 TFLs, one sack and ten quarterback hurries while sharing time at defensive end and tackle.

Carlson had a 41.6-yard average on 37 punts this season as a redshirt freshman, with 11 landing inside the opponent’s 20-yard line. He connected on 17 of 21 field goal attempts with a long of 46 yards, and missed just once inside 40 yards. Pulling triple duty most of the season, 46 of Carlson’s 75 kickoffs went for touchbacks.

Coates was explosive again in 2014 as he ranks third nationally with a 23.9 yards per catch average, but he is the team’s second leading receiver. D’haquille Williams leads the Tigers with 45 receptions, 730 receiving yards and five touchdown catches. Coates is not far behind with 717 yards and four TDs on 30 grabs, but it’s easy to say Williams should have been in the mix for league honors.

Live Feed

Auburn vs. Texas A&M Prediction, Odds, Trends and Key Players for College Football Week 4
Auburn vs. Texas A&M Prediction, Odds, Trends and Key Players for College Football Week 4 /


  • 2023 Week 4 AP Poll Top 25: Every SEC team’s highest, lowest spot on ballotSouth Bound & Down
  • SEC Football: Florida, LSU rise in Week 4 2023 power rankingsSouth Bound & Down
  • SEC Tailgating: Where should you go in each town?South Bound & Down
  • SEC football standings based on yards per play through Week 2FanSided
  • Auburn Basketball: Projected starting lineup and depth chart for 2023-24 seasonBusting Brackets
  • Another possible snub was quarterback Nick Marshall. Mississippi State quarterback Dak Prescott spent a large portion of the season in the Heisman Trophy race, and earned first team honors. Alabama QB Blake Sims surpassed all expectations this season, and earned a spot on the second team. The two were the only two signal callers listed on ballots.

    That means Marshall – the pre-season All-SEC QB – failed to earn even an Honorable Mention for a season in which he completed 163 of 271 passes (60.1%) for 2,315 yards and 18 touchdowns as well as 780 rushing yards and 11 scores on 146 carries.

    Alabama wide receiver was named SEC Offensive Player of the Year, and Missouri defensive end Shane Ray took the top defensive honor. Georgia running back Nick Chubb was named the Freshman of the Year, and Mississippi State’s Dan Mullen earned the title of Coach of the Year.


    WR  Amari Cooper, Alabama

    WR Pharoh Cooper, South Carolina

    WR Bud Sasser, Missouri

    OL La’el Collins, LSU

    OL Ben Beckwith, Mississippi State

    OL Arie Kouandjio, Alabama

    OL Laremy Tunsil, Ole Miss

    C Reese Dismukes, Auburn

    TE Evan Engram, Ole Miss

    QB Dak Prescott, Mississippi State

    RB Cameron Artis-Payne, Auburn

    RB Nick Chubb, Georgia

    K Austin MacGinnis, Kentucky

    AP Marcus Murphy, Missouri

    DE Shane Ray, Missouri

    DE Bud Dupree

    DT Robert Nkemdiche, Ole Miss

    DT Johnathan Allen, Alabama

    LB Martrell Spaight, Arkansas

    LB Reggie Ragland, Alabama

    LB Amarlo Herrera, Georgia

    CB Senquez Golson, Ole Miss

    CB Vernon Hargreaves III, Florida

    S Landon Collins, Alabama

    S Cody Prewitt Ole Miss

    P J.K. Scott, Alabama


    WR Josh Reynolds, Texas A&M

    WR Sammie Coates, Auburn

    OL Greg Pyke, Georgia

    OL A.J. Cann, South Carolina

    OL Cedric Ogbuehi, Texas A&M

    OL Austin Shepherd, Alabama

    C David Andrews, Georgia

    TE Steven Scheu, Vanderbilt

    QB Blake Sims, Alabama

    RB Josh Robinson, Mississippi State

    RB Jonathan Williams, Arkansas

    K Josh Lambo, Texas A&M

    AP Pharoh Cooper, South Carolina

    DE Preston Smith, Mississippi State

    DE Derek Barnett, Tennessee

    DT Myles Garrett, Texas A&M

    DT Darius Philon, Arkansas

    LB Benardrick McKinney, Mississippi State

    LB Kwon Alexander, LSU

    LB Kentrell Brothers, Missouri

    LB Antonio Morrison, Florida

    LB Curt Maggitt, Tennessee

    LB Ramik Wilson, Georgia

    CB Cyrus Jones, Alabama

    CB Damian Swann, Georgia

    CB Jonathan Jones, Auburn

    S Braylon Webb, Missouri

    S Ronald Martin, LSU

    S Tony Conner, Ole Miss

    P Kyle Christy, Florida

    Next: Malzahn Keeps DC Search Details Close to His Sweater Vest

    More from Fly War Eagle