Auburn basketball players earn All-SEC honors

SEC coaches’ selections for men’s basketball awards were announced March 10, and two Auburn players were awarded with at least one selection each.

Samir Doughty was named to the First Team All-SEC, and he became the first Auburn player to be a First Team All-SEC coaches’ selection since Chris Porter and Doc Robinson earned the honor after the 1999 season. Doughty averaged 16.7 points per game along with 3.9 rebounds, 2.7 assists and 1.2 steals while shooting 33.5 percent from three and 41.2 percent from the field.

Isaac Okoro was selected to the Second Team All-SEC, All-Defensive Team and the All-Freshman Team. Okoro averaged 12.9 points per game in addition to 4.4 rebounds, 2.0 assists, 0.9 steals and 0.9 blocks per game on 29 percent shooting from three and 51.4 percent shooting from the field.

In addition to their strong statlines, Okoro and Doughty have excelled in shutting down opposing players. While they have had their share of high scoring opponents, such as Mason Jones, Doughty and Okoro have continued to turn opponents over, force bad shots and deny opportunities to good scorers more often than not.

Kentucky’s Immanuel Quickley was named the conference’s Player of the Year while Kentucky coach John Calipari was named the conference’s Coach of the Year.

Other selections include: LSU’s Skylar Mays as SEC Scholar-Athlete of the Year, Georgia’s Anthony Edwards as SEC Freshman of the Year, Mississippi State’s Tyson Carter as SEC Sixth Man of the Year, and Tennessee’s Yves Pons as SEC Defensive Player of the Year.

Doughty and Okoro were the only two Tigers selected for awards from the SEC’s coaches. Okoro and Doughty have helped lead Auburn to a 25-6 record, going 12-6 in SEC play and earning a two-seed in this week’s SEC Tournament.

Austin Wiley might be the most notable Auburn player to not earn any honors. Wiley’s stats put him at the top of the SEC and near the top of the country in many categories, especially when adjusted for the time he splits with Anfernee McLemore.

Auburn will start SEC Tournament play at 6 p.m. CT on Friday against the winner of the Texas A&M and Missourri game.