Auburn football: QB commit invited to Elite 11 finals

Class of 2021 quarterback Dematrius Davis has a chance to be the next great Auburn star and that journey is off to a great start.

For top quarterback prospects across the country, the annual Elite 11 quarterback competition is the premier showcase of talent. Started in 1999, the event has hosted several of today’s NFL stars such as Matthew Stafford, Jared Goff and Kyler Murray while also hosting other big names like Jameis Winston, Tim Tebow and Andrew Luck throughout its history.

Earlier this week, the 20 participants in this year’s finals were announced. Among them is Auburn commit and four-star recruit in the class of 2021, Dematrius Davis.

Among the 20 prospects invited to the finals are Georgia commit Brock Vandagriff, the nation’s No. 1 pro-style quarterback in Washington commit Sam Huard and the country’s top overall QB prospect Caleb Williams.

According to 247Sports, Davis is listed as the 93rd best player in his class, a top-15 player in the state of Texas and the fifth-ranked dual-threat quarterback in the nation.

The 5-foot-11, 190-pound quarterback committed to the Tigers back in May after de-committing from Virginia Tech earlier that month.

An absolute superstar at North Shore high school in Houston, Texas, Davis has led his team to a 31-1 record over the last two seasons while bringing home two consecutive Class 6A Texas state championships.

As a junior in 2019, Davis passed for 2,672 yards and rushed for 1,466 yards for a combined 54 touchdowns.

With Davis scheduled to arrive at Auburn in 2021, he has a chance to be Auburn’s next starting quarterback by his sophomore or junior season

Davis certainly isn’t the first Auburn quarterback to participate in the Elite 11. In fact, several former Tigers participated in the showcase in high school. Current Auburn starter Bo Nix participated in 2018.

Additionally, former Auburn QB Sean White won the MVP at the event in 2013 while other former Tigers such as Jarrett Stidham (2014) and Kiehl Frazier (2010).

The event is scheduled to be held from July 29-June 1. The Elite 11 prospects will be named after the finals are finished.

Load Comments